EU Parliament’s Climate Commissioners


On Wednesday, political groups within the European Parliament successfully obtained a two-thirds majority for the new climate and energy commissioners, Wopke Hoekstra and Maros Sefcovic, in preparation for the vote scheduled on October 5th. Following this vote, Hoekstra is set to become the commissioner, overseeing EU negotiators at the UN Cop 28 climate talks in Dubai. Sefcovic will assume oversight of the commission’s climate and energy work. During their hearings, both Hoekstra and Sefcovic made personal commitments to achieve at least a 90pc reduction in greenhouse gas emissions in the EU by 2040, which has been met with varying levels of support and concern among different political groups. The Dutch Green group obtained written promises from the candidates regarding a science-based reduction and a phase-out of fossil fuel subsidies. The formal approval of these new appointments by EU member states is anticipated following the favourable vote in the parliamentary plenary on October 5.